Dharmatma (1975)

dharmatma2

Ah, Feroz Khan. As a producer and director, you spare nothing! I watched Dharmatma a long time ago and it was time for a rewatch in the wake of the fantabulous Apradh. I remember that I had liked it, but I was bowled over completely the second time around. 

Premnath dominates as the title character: a wealthy and powerful man who believes entirely that the end justifies the means, who has convinced himself that his bad deeds are compensated for by his good ones. Indeed, he is called “Dharmatma” (God Man) by everyone because of those good deeds. Feroz Khan plays his son, a man standing firmly on principles that are completely at odds with his father’s.

Their conflict plays out against a backdrop that includes the gorgeous Afghani landscape, crazy nightclubs (and a dwarf bartender!), opulent mansions, and all the stylish goodness you’d expect from the era (and from Feroz too). The production values are high, the camera work spectacular. Plus: Hema Malini as a gypsy dancer! Danny Denzongpa! Ranjeet and Sudhir in matching outfits! Rekha! Helen! Nadira as a gypsy fortuneteller! Faryal as a sexy nurse! Iftekhar as not a police inspector! And Kalyanji-Anandji’s music doesn’t suck either, especially the background score.

The film opens with tension building as an innocent man is led to the gallows, while Seth Dharamdas (Premnath) tries desperately to persuade his friend the Governor to postpone the hanging due to some new evidence that has come to light.

dharmatma_angles

Our first acquaintance with Dharamdas is thus as a “good guy” and benefactor. That mission accomplished, he visits an old friend who is dying of cancer in the hospital, and performs his daily puja before Kali. He lives in a huge mansion with his wife Shanti (Sulochana) and daughter Mona (Farida Jalal). Mona’s friend Anu (Rekha), the daughter of Kishanlal (Krishan Dhawan)—one of Dharamdas’ men—is in love with his absent son Ranbir. Mona tells Anu that Ranbir is in Afghanistan.

Cut to a badly lit gambling club owned by Anokhelal (Jeevan) and his brother Meghnad (a virtually unrecognizable Satyendra Kapoor). They are not-very-successful rivals of Dharamdas, and we watch as Dharamdas—in his better lit office—outwits them yet again in a criminal enterprise. 

dharmatma_jeevan

Anokhelal’s son Rishi (Ranjeet) and Meghnad’s son Natwar (Sudhir) are drug-addled idiots who wear matching outfits. There’s not much love lost (or respect) between fathers and sons.

dharmatma_oneass

(Yes, Ranjeet is still hot despite being drug-addled, idiotic and disrespectful). Anokhelal’s cigarette lighter is even better. Check it out!

dharmatma_lighter

It’s an ass! with the flame emerging from its rear end! These are the kinds of details I so appreciate. Anyway.

Rishi and Natwar’s idea of a fun evening out is picking up a girl who thinks Natwar really cares for her, and then raping her. The girl’s father (Nasir Hussain) goes to Dharamdas afterwards to plead with him for justice. This leads to one of my favorite scenes in the film: Gary Glitter’s “Rock ‘N Roll Part 1” plays in the background as a blonde-wigged dancer gyrates in front of a bunch of white hippies and Rishi and Natwar get high and drunk.

dharmatma_midget

When they begin molesting the blonde dancer, Dharamdas’ man DARA SINGH *clapping my hands in delight* arrives to rescue her, and—once the two thugs have shot all their bullets into his bullet-proof vest (I said they were idiotic)—he beats the crap out of them.

dharmatma_darasingh

Dharamdas visits his dying friend, who asks that his son Kundan (Imtiaz) be married to Mona, whom he loves. Dharamdas readily agrees and his friend breathes his last. Shanti and Mona want Ranbir to be at the wedding, but Dharamdas angrily rejects the idea. Flashback to the bitter father-son quarrel over moral values.

dharmatma_argument

In Afghanistan, Ranbir watches in amusement as a pretty gypsy girl is chased through the woods by her would-be suitor.

dharmatma_hemadanny

Reshma (Hema Malini) and Jankura (Danny) belong to the same band of traveling gypsies, and Jankura is smitten in the worst way. Reshma is not nearly as smitten—until she sets her eyes on Ranbir.

dharmatma_ranbir

Reshma and Jankura run off, but not without Reshma casting backwards glances at Ranbir, who watches her go rather intently. When he returns home, his uncle (Madan Puri) has arrived from a trip to India and he tells Ranbir of Mona’s wedding plans. But when he suggests that Ranbir go home, Ranbir refuses as stubbornly as did Dharamdas.

To change the subject, his uncle invites him to accompany him to a fair where gypsies are performing. Remembering Reshma, Ranbir agrees with alacrity. What an evening! Hema dances to “Meri Galiyon Se” as Jankura gets increasingly angry at the obvious attraction between her and Ranbir. Many smoldering glances are exchanged, and I think it’s one of Hema’s best dances ever (and that’s saying something). She’s having so much fun, and throws herself into the dance.

dharmatma_merigaliyonse

The next day Jankura and Ranbir come to blows over Reshma until the chief of the tribe intervenes—but he, too, warns Ranbir to stay away from Reshma. Mona, meanwhile, has written to ask Ranbir to come to her wedding—a plea that he can’t refuse.

Everyone is thrilled to see him when he arrives during the wedding; everyone but Dharamdas, although Ranbir reaches out to him.

dharmatma_return

I should add that Farida Jalal makes a lovely bride:

dharmatma_farida

Of course, Shanti starts in on the Ma Guilt Trip as soon as Mona and Kundan have departed. She wants Ranbir to marry Anu, but Dharamdas interrupts the discussion drunkenly. Shanti packs Ranbir off to bed before a fight can erupt, and he finds Anu waiting for him in his room. She essentially tells him that she’s in love with him, but he pretends not to understand (so lame!) and soon returns to Afghanistan, and Reshma.

dharmatma_reshma

He asks Reshma to marry him, and she accepts. There’s trouble brewing for them, though: at the gypsy camp, a competition for the tribe’s young men is announced with the winner to get “whatever he desires.” We all know what Jankura desires (although I strongly disapprove of women as “prizes”).

dharmatma_competition

The competition basically consists of horses and men trampling each other in an effort to retrieve a dead animal and take it to the chief. It’s all very primitive and I worry that horses are getting hurt, but eventually Jankura wins. He asks for Reshma’s hand just as Ranbir and his uncle pull up in a jeep; Ranbir tells everyone that Reshma has promised to marry him. His uncle and the tribe chieftain, who are friends, retreat into the chief’s tent to discuss the matter. Reshma follows them to speak for herself.

dharmatma_talk

No wonder she wants out! It turns out that she was adopted as an orphan by the chief, but doesn’t belong to the tribe; and after she pleads with him he gives in and agrees to her marriage with Ranbir. Everyone celebrates (even Jankura!), except the gypsy fortune teller (Nadira). She has bad news for Reshma and Ranbir.

dharmatma_nadira

Back in India, Anokhelal and Meghnad have requested a meeting with Dharamdas. They want him to join them in a new scheme to manufacture morphine and cocaine—drugs are hugely profitable. He turns them down, both because he doesn’t trust them and also because he disapproves of drugs and the damage they cause. Kundan though is attracted by the profits and turns traitor, joining Dharamdas’ enemies. With his help, Natwar and Rishi gun down Dharamdas and then set off for Afghanistan to eliminate Ranbir as well.

There, it is Ranbir and Reshma’s wedding day.

Is Dharamdas dead? Will Ranbir and Reshma survive? How will Dharamdas’ life and deeds affect his family? This film is supposedly inspired by The Godfather, which I haven’t seen in years and don’t remember very well (I know, I know). Premnath puts in a powerhouse performance as a man torn between his good intentions and his desire for wealth and power. He is just great—he must have loved this role; and he is very ably supported by everyone else.

I do know one thing for sure: The Godfather didn’t have midget bartenders or Helen in one of her most bizarre dance numbers ever.

dharmatma_helen2

website statisticsPlease note: Comments below contain spoilers, so if you want to be surprised, don’t read them!

43 Comments to “Dharmatma (1975)”

  1. Oh, Hema looks so absolutely gorgeous in these screen caps! This is, unfortunately, one of those movies I’ve never got around to watching – but I’m putting it on my to-do list right now.

    P.S. Happy New Year – I’m an hour away from 2009 here in India, but whenever it strikes midnight for you: have a great 2009. Am looking forward to many, many more of your amazing posts. :-)

  2. Thanks, Madhu :-) A very happy New Year to you too!!!! We’re still half a day away, but getting there! Dharmatma will wait until 2009 :-)

  3. Oh, oh, I liked that one! I was completely fascinated by Feroz’ directing style – some people would probably talk about an overuse of weird camera angles and red spotlights, but I like how there’s always something going on visually.
    What this is supposed to have to do with The Godfather I really can’t comprehend…

    • what this has to do with the godfather????? are u kidding me??? this movie is basically a messed up version of godfather with a lot of indian elements thrown in and adjusted for indian sensibilities and tastes…the original godfather is a much, much better movie to watch…

      if you had watched it or atleast read the book, you wont be asking this…

  4. Feroz Khan’s movies are so soul satisfying! No matter how bad things get, they are always fun and everything wks out perfectly :DI have to say- love Prem Nath’s Manoj Kumar pose- I did love Prem v much in his Black & White days- v cute- but he became a scary-looking older man- which was good for his career of course :D

  5. houseinrlyeh: The weird camera angles match all the other weirdness :-) I love his style.

    And as I said…*looks around furtively*…I don’t really remember much about The Godfather…

    shweta: Premnath was just awesome in this. Loved him. Love Feroz too, officially. Will need to see his other directed/produced films (only seen Apradh and Qurbani and this)…

  6. It is very much inspired by “The Godfather” and the parallels/similarities are unmistakable. The ending of “Dharmatma” is different though, and Feroz’s character doesn’t have two other brothers, like Al Pacino’s Michael did.

    1. Crime syndicate, with godfather-like figure running it? Check.
    2. Son who doesn’t agree with his dad’s business? Check.
    3. Son has a woman who loves him? Check.
    4. Son marries a rural/gypsy woman? Check.
    5. Son’s wife dies as a result of son being targeted by enemies? Check.
    6. Godfather refuses to partner with other criminals who want to expand drug trade? Check.
    7. Godfather is attacked and shot in a bid to eliminate him? Check.
    8. Son returns and takes revenge? Check.
    9. Son gets together with the woman in 3. who loves him? Check.

    The difference is that in case of D, Feroz doesn’t continue with his dad’s criminal enterprise and collaborates with the Indian police, whereas in G, Al Pacino takes his dad’s place.

  7. I’ve heard this being referred to as an Indianized version of the Godfather often, but never got around to seeing it myself. After reading this, I can see why folks say that. From what I can tell:

    Dharamdas = Vito
    Ranbir = Michael, Vito’s son
    Mona = Connie, Vito’s daughter
    Kundan = Carlo, Connie’s husband
    Reshma = Apollonia, Michael’s first wife
    Anu = Kay

    Just like Vito refuses to get into the drug trade in the Godfather, Dharamdas does the same here, and gets gunned down in an assassination attempt.

    And while Michael has a girlfriend (Kay Adams) and is sent to Italy where he meets his first wife Apollonia, Ranbir has an admirer in Anu but is in Afghanistan where he meets Reshma.

    And just like Carlo the son-in-law betraying the family and setting up Sonny in an ambush, Kundan betrays Dharamdas and switches allegiances.

    I loved the Godfather too, so an inspired 70’s Bollywood version directed by Feroz Khan should be totally awesome, and seeing those screencaps makes me want to watch the movie NOW! :-D

  8. Oh, also:

    10. Son-in-law who betrays godfather? Check.
    11. Even the rape incident and godfather helping the girl’s dad is there in both.
    12. Dara Singh = Luca Brasi (both big lumbering henchmen).


    I was hoping for some Rekha screen-caps – she looked so sexy in this movie. And some of the songs are quite memorable – “Kya Khoob Lagti Ho” and “tere chere mein woh jaadoo hai.”

    All in all, it’s quite entertaining masala movie.

  9. You guys are killing me with these spoilers, but I’ve updated my post to warn people :-)

    And thank you for reminding me why it’s called the Indian Godfather! Although I still maintain that the Hollywood version lacked some of the more cracktastic elements of Feroz Khan’s version :-))))

  10. Whoops! You know, I was thinking about putting bold SPOILERS in my post but changed my mind at the last minute since IMO there wasn’t anything new about Dharmatma that wasn’t already mentioned in the review. I hope I didn’t ruin either film for anybody! :-D Thanks for adding the warning.

  11. Oops, sorry about the spoiler thingy. :-)
    I’d think that most people have already seen ‘The Godfather’ by now.

  12. Sy & Amit: I was mostly kidding—you’re not really killing me :) But I have to be cognizant of those who don’t remember anything from 30 years ago (like me) or might not have seen Dharmatma yet (although I agree that I pretty much covered most of it in my post above)…(but I left out the last HOUR of it which is pretty action-packed :-)…Happy New Year!

  13. Memsaab

    I like one song from this movie – i think it is a Rekha and Feroze Khan song in the movie – “tum ne kabhi kissey se pyaar kiya hai, bolo naa”

  14. Memsaab

    Wish u a happy new year 2009. Down Under it is already 1.15 pm in the afternoon ie 1 Jan 2009

  15. So you can tell us how 2009 is so far!!!! :-)

  16. Well you could add some more Rekha screen-caps. :)

  17. Memsaab – Good write up on Dharmatma & wish you happy new year

  18. Yes, this movie was indeed inspired by “Godfather”. In fact, Feroz Khan movies those days used to be inspired from Western movies. “Khote Sikkey” for instance was totally inspired from a Western movie as well. ( From “the good, bad and ugly”- or some other Clint Eastwood movie, I forgot which one).

  19. Lovely review – as usual.
    Loved the movie when I saw it all those years ago – must be at least 30 years ago.
    Lovely songs.
    And Hema looks sooooooo gorgeous. Those days she looked gorgeous in most movies anyway but here, in gypsy outfit, she even outdoes herself.

    I like the word “cracktastic” :-) that you use quite often.
    I know exactly what you mean – this one word packs a lot of meaning in it.

    Thanks, Greta, for another terrific review.
    And I enjoy reading the small details that you always throw in…like “the ass lighter” in this case. :-)

  20. Amit: Hope you had a lovely New Year’s :-) Was too snowy to travel far! And I think I’ve overdone the screen caps as it is—Rekha didn’t really have that much to do in the film, although she did look lovely!

    V. Manohar: A very happy New Year to you as well!

    Atul: Anything inspired by Sergio Leone is worth watching for me, I’ll look for Khote Sikkey!

    raja: Thank you :-) Hema looked absolutely stunning, and she seemed to be enjoying herself too. And thanks most of all for noticing the lighter! I fear that I ramble on so much, and put in so many screen caps—I can’t help myself when it’s all this FAB—that much of what I say goes unread (not that I blame anyone) and little gems like that are unfairly buried under my lack of discipline :-D

  21. Greta, you don’t have to worry about your rambling.
    I would say “ramble on”. :-)
    I read every word of your reviews – and I am sure others here do too. They are just so much fun to read.

    Like I sometimes say when I hear that cliche “there is a method in the madness”, I go “So ?And what if there is not ? Does there always have to be a method in everything ? Can’t we be mad for mad’s sake ?” ;-)

    I know this has nothing to do with this thread – but then I do my share of rambling too. :-)

  22. Ha ha :-) I started this blog mostly as an outlet for talking about these films anyway, and didn’t really ever think anyone would read it!!! I just had nobody to talk to (my friends and family don’t watch Hindi films, except my sister now but she doesn’t have much time)!

    So I am very grateful to those of you who do read it, and comment and share your knowledge and experience with me. I have so much to catch up on!

    And you may “ramble on” as much as you like too. It’s that kind of blog! :-)

  23. Thanks for continuing the Feroz Khan love, Memsaab! This is a great one, but I still think Qurbani is his masterpiece as an auteur. Another of his spaghetti westerns that I’d recommend — in addition to seconding Atul’s recommendation of Khotte Sikkay (some serious Ranjeet fashion statements in that one, BTW) is Kaala Sona.

    BTW, I may just be an old fool, but I could swear that that was not Helen for most of that musical number, though there were a couple shots that did appear to be her. In fact, I’m pretty sure that’s not her in the screen cap you posted.

  24. I am happy to continue the Feroz Khan love. I guess I thought he was sort of creepy (albeit in a very unique way) when I became acquainted with him as he is now. But I do love him now, completely (and liked him in Welcome too, even with the bald do-rag thing) :-)

    I am positive that it IS Helen in the dance (and I’ve spent MANY hours studying her), although she does look like ten miles of bad road. But I think that it’s part of the aesthetic of the whole scene.

    I will add those two Feroz films to my ever-full Nehaflix shopping cart! :-)

  25. For another cracktastic and trippy turn, you have to check out Feroz’s “Jaanbaaz” then. And Happy New Year to you too – bring on the ramblings. :-)

  26. omg! i LOOOOVVVVEEEE FEROZ, and Danny! I think this could be on my list as greatest funky movie ever! I love Feroz’s direction its so pounding and quite violent, which made me love it even more. though my only complaint was that his love for Rekha seemed very half-hearted!
    And the ass-lighter, my dad bought almost the same kinda thing when travelling in Amsterdam, its hilarious, i never noticed that part!
    and ohhhh ranjeet and sudhir were sooooooooooooooooooooo idiotically cute that i wanted to buy some of their matching outfits too, i love the tight cowboy wear at the end~

  27. I remember liking it too when I saw it the first time. I feel tempted now to see it all over again. Though I must say, I still remember my heart’s awful contsriction when Reshma died. Don’t know whether I want a repeat of that.

    You saw ‘Apradh’ too. I love that film. And can watch it again and again.

  28. Amit: Thanks, will give that a try too when I find it (not at Nehaflix) (but I WILL track it down)…

    Rum: I want that lighter!!!! And I don’t even smoke! :-) I loved the cowboy outfits too…

    Banno: Yes, there were some pretty heartbreaking parts in this, which Apradh luckily doesn’t have. Plus, it has auto racing which I also love :-D

  29. I just discovered your website. Fantastic is the only word I can think that describes it. I love the way you note the small details and bring them to our attention. This was a great way to go back 30 odd years – has it really been that long?

    Looking forward to reading all your posts leisurely. keep up the great work!

  30. Thank you, Lalitha! That makes me feel very good—a great way to start the day :) Do keep commenting too, I love input from people!

  31. Haha. Yeah the movie was fun fun fun. I love the songs – meri galiyon se and tere chehre me wo jadoo hai. Feroz had chutzpah aplenty. I loved his movies. N if you wanna fall in love with a young feroze, take a look at Safar.

  32. I have Safar, and just got some of the recommended films above so lots of Feroz in my future! (and thus yours too if you come back here) :-)

  33. this was a decent film by Feroz Khan

    the film was copied from THE GODFATHER but well handled

    Feroz Khan had a weird talking style bt okay

    he gav some good films like QURBANI and craps like JAANBAAZ, YALGAAR, JAANASHEEN

    btw feroz always killed the other actor in 2 hero films, vinod in QURBANI, Anil in JAANBAAZ, Sanju in YALGAAR

  34. What a great movie.watched this movie 10th time. Enjoying every single time.great land scape of Afghanistan. Hema and rekha they were just looking stunning. Songs, photography amazing. Thanks to firoz khan and his vision.yes this movie is inspired by godfather.turning this movie in to Bollywood version and making it super hit.wow. Go watch this movie.you wil love it.

  35. The red-haired dancer in the club who dances to ‘Rock N’ Roll’ is named Seema Kapoor. (not the one who comes up on google as acting in teledramas recently) There is quite a bit about her in the 1974 Film World magazines I recently acquired.

    I don’t think that’s a wig too. She has the same hair in the magazine.

  36. I think Feroz Khan had given the most meorable negative roles to RANJIT & SUDHIR(The Dirty pair)in their lifelong carrer.

  37. DHARMATMA was may 1975 release certified with ,A,certificate, was about twenty reel/three hrs duration,second outing as a director/actor/producer in his mid thirtees,this was an extravanza,mind blow AFGAN locations,probably for first time and more or less for last time,this one not takeoff from as mentioned so many times but just got fringe idea,from it,to cultivate into mind blowing script,with title role to PREMDA after JHONY MERA NAAM(1970)what effortless performance he gave,rightly mentioned few years after, Feroz uncle mentioned ,had PREMDA not agreed to do this role,I would have droped the idea of this,right from script was written,he(FEROZ)was fully convinced that only PREMDA would do justice to,(that’s onother fact that SANJAY KHAN uncle entrusted PREMDA with his best comic role in CHANDI SONA MAR 1977)back to this movie right from start the tempo of movie begins to build up and throughout the it keeps it pace,one cannot editout any role as each and every role had signifence, including faryal aunty,hereby I must mention that Ranjeet uncle/sudhir uncle were at their evil best,which even today sends shivers in backbone thirty eight after its release,one more thing,nowhere in the movie FEROZ uncle mentions existence of Hema aunty,to his family back in india,and last frank comment fatter REKHA aunty was much more attractive.Feroz uncle once mentioned in magzine that the censors cut half of movie.Unfortunately we donot have filmmakers like him.Watch this one with another one of Feroz uncle’OCT 1975 release KALA SONA.we miss you FEROZ UNCLE.RAVINDER MINHAS,JALANDHAR CITY,PANJAB.minhas35@yahoo.com.

  38. THIS is followup to my earlier writeup regarding the same movie,but the tag is RESPECTED FEROZ uncle,the persona he had is unimaganable,till today nobody has been replace him,be it in anything,Looks,/Passion attachments/bond and affection/and the Lion hearted person he was,Hereby apart from everybody,even Fardeen his will also agree,when he began his career from scrach,with no help,to achieve amazing heights,which by itself is an achievement.Hereby I will not forget to mention,that once around 1980 DHARAM uncle mentioned in an interview,that when he and MANOJ uncle were strugling together somewhere in Late fiftees,he wrote,we were trying too get foothold in Industry,already we were facing compitition from SHASHI(uncle) and JOY(uncle)though at times we use wonder that why arethey in same group despite there strong background,if they are also strugling,where do we both have chance,even BISU(uncle(BISWAJEET)was there,and our problems were multiplied when these two(FEROZ and PREM)too came in,both exteremly handsome,tall,fair with natural red cheeks,now it was sort of hopeless situtation for both of us,and at one time we were about to board atrain back home,but Luck changed everything,and not only we came together and Life lasting bond between us even each of us achieved our place in Industry,but even bond between us grew with each passing year.In this movie(DHARMATMA)I would in specfic mention two different situtions where one Judge FEROZ uncles class,the first one when HEMA aunty is Killed in Jeep blast,the second,while sitting on. Chair he watches his fathers wealth alongside his mother,Just watch FEROZ uncles reaction,which itself speak volumes of him,true even GOD has given us another FEROZ uncle,our generation who is in fourtees,and grew up with his cinema,we will always; mis him,his soul must be in peace.RAVINDER MINHAS,JALANDHAR CITY,PANJAB,minhas35@yahoo.com.

  39. For me Dharmatma was a blockbuster but unfortunately was an average hit at box office. Films made with sophistication and finesse are seldom super hits in India. Based on The Godfather but filmed stylishly with Indian urban flavour is one my favourites..

  40. There is absolutely no doubt that Feroze Khan was way ahead of his times. His suave charm held girls spell bound though Sanjay Khan was better looking than him. The problem is that audience may not share the same enthu that directors like Feroze had in their mind. He was truly a style icon. He was a better director than actor. I am saying this despite the fact that most of his movies turned turnips at the box-office. Despite great music and bold bedroom scenes, his 1972 movie “APRADH” was an average grosser. Yes, at times, Feroze moved you with his innocent and boyish charm in movies like – Major Chandrakant, Raat Aur Din and Safar. But by and large, he believed in style more than in substance. Excepting for Kala Sona, Qurbani and Khotey Sikke, most of Feroze’s movies were flops. Mercifully, his last movie Welcome was a big hit at the box office.

    It was widely speculated [without much evidence] that heroines were uncomfortable with him. Kalpana did not act with him after “Teesra Kaun”, Hema did the vanishing act after “Dharmatma” [legend has it that Hema had to troop her mother all along to Afghanistan for the shooting of “Dharmatma”]. I do not know if Zeenat has acted with Feroze Khan in any movie other than Qurbani. Ditto Madhuri Dixit who vamoosed after Dayavan. The only actress with whom this legend shared a great screen chemistry was Mumtaz.

    May be I am biased. Feroze Khan did not make too many movies. He was more interested in direction. His Jaanbaz had Rekha, Sridevi, Dimple – yet despite some fantastic music, the movie bombed. Nagma, Manisha Koirala and their sexy swirls in Feroze Khan’s Yalgar could not help sustain the movie at the box office.

    The only commonality among all his movies was that he presented his leading ladies well on the screen and in real life, he was a giver. He believed in creating a mystique around him and succeeded in retaining that mystique till the very end. Sad that, Fardeen Khan, despite showing lot of promise in “Just Married” quit movies so early. Incidentally, do you see the connection?

    Feroze-Hema’s children Fardeen and Esha played the lead in the movie and it was directed by star daughter Bosky Gulzar.

    As regards Premnath, the interview given by Faryal about him was repulsive and disturbing. With this villain actor one never knows when the lines between the reel life and real life got blurred.

Leave a comment